Leaves of Chocolate

I laughed with incredulity when I spied this packet in a German store. What the deuce?

"Delicious bread spread of finest chocolate."



Leaves of chocolate to place between bread. As in a sandwich. So you eat bread and chocolate. Could anything be more unappetizing? I like my chocolate unadulterated, thank you.

Except when it’s in a chocolate mousse. Or a hot chocolate. Of course, I have been known to dip strawberries and marshmallows in warm chocolate and I’ve been girding up to try chocolate-coated ants, more as a dare to myself than anything.  Mud cake. Obviously. Then there’s chocolate croissants…mmm.

Actually, I suppose bread is quite similar to croissant.

But, still there’s something not quite right. Embededness? Integration? I don’t want a hard slab of chocolate perched on my bread any more than I want one in my croissant. No, count me out. I’ll take the leaves and the bread but I’ll keep them separate – as habit demands.

6 responses to “Leaves of Chocolate

  1. I know it’s taken me a long time to get to here, but thought I would still comment 😉
    When I was in high school, our French teacher introduced us to fresh white bread with squares of chocolate (‘together’ but more easily eaten when one takes a bite of each)…and we were told this was a popular ‘snack’ in France?

  2. though a slice of hard chocolate between two bits of bread does seem a little extreme! c

  3. Ohhhh Annie! When I first came here, I learned that white bread and butter with bits of chocolate on is D.E.L.I.C.I.O.U.S!!! More than I’d ever imagined!! (yes, it’s rather croissant-like!)

    • Really? Do you grate chocolate on or use buds? You were the one who introduced D., who introduced me, to the idea of chocolate-coated pretzels. Salt and sugar with crispness. Apparently delicious too. Haven’t tried them. I suppose chocolate is where you find it.

Leave a Reply

